Stories of a good God

Last Thursday I was free for the first time this year to walk up to my daughter’s school to collect her … 6-year-old M had a play date straight after school and there were no after school activities to rush to …

This particular day had been a typical Melbourne Spring day … sunshine in the morning, proceeded with rain patches … rain patches … and then rain … no patch … just rain … rain … and so by about 2pm I prayed and said:

God, I would like to collect R from school, and I would like to walk up to get her … so we can walk home quietly and talk to one another

After my request/prayer, I then spoke to the weather and said: “in the name of Jesus you will stop raining at 3pm …” and I quietly agreed with myself that I would walk up if the rain had stopped by three … in faith that the rain had stopped …

I thought nothing more, until 3pm came around, the skies were cloudy, but clear and lighter … and so I gathered my rain coat and umbrella (“oh, yea of little faith” you may say … I would say “wisdom” :-)) and I joyfully made my way up to my daughters school, entering the grounds a different way to normal, just sensing God’s gentle guidance about the way I should go, the pathway to take …

I was really really early and pondered what to do.  I thought about a few a options and felt God say “just sit down” and so I decided to sit outside her classroom and enjoy the moment of solitude … trying not to feel like a goose being so early …

Not much time had passed when one of the teachers walked out of the class room and said “Hello” …

She was all smiles and said “I was thinking about you a couple of days ago …”

Now, she is another I have prayed for … a few times.

The first time was with the school chaplain in a prayer meeting … where we prayed for staff …

The second time was with her, when God basically said to say “Can I pray for you, it’s your turn … you have not been overlooked …” to which she had responded with tears “oh yes, I have so wanted you to pray for me, I’ve been waiting for you to pray for me …” …

At the time I had seen Heaven’s delight at her being born and I told her the details of what I saw, the celebration in Heaven, the joy and delight of the angels and I confirmed that God had His sights set on her …”

She cried …

I asked if I could hug her …

She threw herself into my arms saying passionately “YES”!

The encounter was quite dramatic for her … she was hungry for a touch from God …

I have prayed one other time for her that I can think of … and suggested that she may like to join us some time at our home, where we help people to learn about and access God for themselves … she said she would like that …

Anyway …. I digress …

This particular afternoon last week she walked over to me and I felt to see if she needed a hug …

She did, so I hugged her and asked if she were ok …

I then prayed for her as I held her (she’s only little) and released “peace”.  I then felt to say that she would learn how to sleep in the storm, that if she could sleep in a storm, then she truly knew that she had peace … and I started to tell her the story of Jesus asleep in the storm (see Matt 8:24 and Mark 4:37) … and I said I felt that this story was just for her … that God wanted to be her Peace … that when we can rest in the storm, then we know we truly have “Peace” …

She gasped and said … that is exactly the scripture that Rev P gave me when I spoke to her, referring to the Book of Matthew …

I laughed, and said “that is soooo funny, and soooo God …”

I explained that He loved her and that the Bible says that through 2 or 3 witnesses He will confirm a thing (2 Corinthians 13:1) … and that here He was confirming that this was her scripture … one she could read, learn, ponder upon and ask Him, what she needed to draw out of it … I encouraged her to sit and ask God questions about the scripture and to journal what she “heard” … “felt” Him say to her …

Now, she’s not yet a Christian … I think … but I cannot really know … but here was God giving her a scripture for this season of her life, through the school chaplain and myself, independently, giving her confirmation of who He wanted to be for her, and in doing so showing her how much He loved her, had her in His sights, while teaching her, drawing her to His word … teaching her to incline her ear to Him …

She was shocked and amazed and jumped up and down excitedly saying over and over how amazing it was … and to be honest, while this sort of thing has happened over and over to me, I’m still like a kid in a candy shop … I still delight and am amazed and I am still in awe when it happens like this … I said, laughing … “I know I get a real shock every time He does this too … “

She got a little teary and I said to her that if she ever felt the need she could call, that I was happy to give her my number (since protocol dictated that she should not get it off the school data base) to which she said she would do so and would want to get in contact when the school year had finished … protocol again …

I nodded at the wisdom in that, in that, while she is not my daughters teacher, she is still close at hand and the year needed to be complete …

Still excited at what God had just done for her she jumped around (she is like a fun, joy filled fire cracker … the angels really did rejoice over her when she was born … she is a delight) and she bounded back into class saying …

“I know why you were here early”  (I had told her I had got here early and felt like a goose) … “you were were here early FOR ME!  You were here early FOR! ME!” and she laughed and bounded and bounced full of delight and joy all the way back into her room …

I think that she was right.  I was there early for her … and through this encounter and other encounters (through me and who ever else God brings to her, like Rev P) she is catching the fact that God loves her … she is clearly learning … she clearly knows that … God loves HER and that

God is Good!

Comments on: "Sleeping in the storm … God is Good!" (7)

  1. Paula said:

    God is sooooo good!!!! Love it, I smiled and wanted to do a little dance for the teacher also

  2. An evangelist heart you have dear God is Good, how beautiful to see the fruit of your sharing, only someone who has walked in your shoes can understand the deep inner Joy that is felt when God uses us to bring people from darkness into His wonderful Light.

    God bless you, God is Good, in your outreach for Him, may your Joy increase and overflow.

    Christian Love – Always from both of us – Anne.

  3. Lovely….and, unless I missed it, it did not rain!!! :)

    I love your encounters and it truly encourages me to release and let God have His way with me: To die to myself and stop wondering what it is going to ‘look’ like and just BE ;)

    Love it, love it, love it!!!

    God is Good ;)

    Blessings my sister ;)

    JC

    • Hi JC
      Thank you for your encouragement … and yes you’re right … it didn’t rain! Good pick up :-) God is Good isn’t He!
      Keep releasing … I just wish I had a little more time to write more up right now!
      Many many blessings
      God is Good!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

