Stories of a good God

In my last post I mentioned that we had headed off on a walk on our first day in a local sea-side town.  My husband had just stepped out and crossed his “chicken line” and I had the sense that I was to keep a look out too …

We wandered up the beach and across a rope swing bridge, over the town river, and as we wandered up the walkway I saw a figure fishing from the vantage point of a wheel chair …

As I walked I knew that he was for me to stop and offer to pray … wheel chairs tend to be my current “chicken line”, even though I have witnessed people “getting out of them”.

I watched as my husband and son, who were a little further ahead, walked straight past and, as I walked hand in hand with my eight year old daughter, I readied myself to offer to pray.

We came along side of the man and I opened up the “encounter” with a comment about fishing … as with all fishermen, they are always up for a chat about the fish … whether they were biting or not … easy opener …

He reported his catch to us and I casually asked him about the chair and asked how he had ended up in one. He said a car crash 22 years ago, and once he explained I offered to pray for him to be healed, recounting the story of the healing of the girl in the wheel chair I had met, explaining how seemingly nothing happened straight away but, over the days to follow the prayer, the girl had been completely healed.

He agreed to the prayer.  My daughter stood by my side, I gave my name and he told me his name was Michael.

He gave me permission to place my hand on his upper spine and I prayed … I then asked him whether he felt anything … He did not, but I explained that God was at work anyway, that people do not always feel anything and they are healed regardless and I rested in the fact that I could feel the anointing, God had asked me to stop, and I trusted it was God’s will that he be healed.

I prayed some more and he then mentioned his left leg and the numbness so I got permission to place my hand on his knee and I commanded feeling to return … for atrophy to leave, for strength to come … and declared his body to be “on earth as it is in Heaven” (Matthew 6:10)… praying as Jesus taught us to pray.

I then thanked him for his time, gave him a number to call and report any change and encouraged him to thank God for every little bit of healing, every little bit of improvement he noticed, explaining that often the healing comes as a seed and as we water it with thanks and praise it will grow …

He promised me he would call with any improvement and I felt God prompt me to give him a kiss on the cheek. Now, I do not often kiss strange men on the cheek, or even give out my mobile (translate “cell”) phone number to men I do not know … to women, when prompted …yes … no problem … to men … no … but in this instance I felt to obey, sensing that it would show an acceptance and a love to this elderly man who in some way he needed and so, again, I asked for permission, this time to kiss him on the cheek …

I leant down, gave him a kiss and I wished this man, I wished Michael, well … wandering on to our destination of scones, jam and cream in the autumn sunshine…

What happens next to Michael I do not know. I just knew, I sensed that, I was to stop and pray … to cross my “chicken line”, again, as my husband had done before me… and to then rest in the knowledge that since the stopping was God’s idea, and God’s ideas are always good, that absolute good would come from stopping and offering to pray for this man, for Michael, because …

God is Good!

Post script: the “chicken line” is a phrase coined by Kevin Dedmon that describes the act of stepping out into a place of risk by offering God’s love, in whatever form that may take, to others around us …

I believe the “chicken line” is different for us all … but we are all called to cross over into that place, because in that place is where we experience risk which is faith in action (see Kevin Dedmon and Chad Dedmon’s book entitled the Risk factor: Crossing the chicken line into your supernatural destiny (2011 Destiny Image Publishers).

For some fun check out our church website and find the You tube videos of people at our church stepping over their chicken line …

Give it a go … its fun and God really does turn up because … well you know … God is Good! J

Comments on: "Crossing my chicken line…”the lame shall walk” because…God is Good!" (8)

  1. I have never heard of the chicken line before. I thought this was a little play on words, or even a joke about chickens. Great story. I hope you hear from him.

    Like

    • Hi Derek. Thanks. I hope I hear from him too! Check out the chicken line videos on the link. It is on our church Facebook. There are four videos so look for episode 1. They don’t run for long and are full of Aussie humour too …

      Like

      • I took look at one of them. Pretty funny stuff. I looked at the last episode, though, so I guess I need to go back and look at the first.

        Like

      • Yes … The last one was funny. It took a while to get going, but they were amusing. The first one put it a bit more into context – they did four episodes in all … Craig and Duffy are very funny and lovely guys.

        Sent from my iPhone

        Like

  2. Jacquie McIntosh said:

    Thanks heaps for your stories. They are invaluable! I love the way you include what you say because it becomes a coaching manual for how to handle these situations. Keep up the GOOD work!!!

    Like

  3. Jessie said:

    And I trust you will fill us in when he contacts you with his healing testimony. Thanks for the link to the video. Watching now.

    Like

    • Hey there. I am hopeful … although sometimes the wait can be a while …
      One girl got back to me 12 months after i prayed for her … I saw her for coffee and she gave her heart back to Christ – her encounter was a healing of her heart (emotional) …
      The girl that did get out of her wheel chair, her mum rang me four days later and let me know what happened and then proceeded to give her heart over the phone … we still keep in touch.
      I suggest you watch the episodes in order maybe. I was away last Sunday and have only just started watching the latest episode (number 4).
      Have a blessed Easter. Many many blessings my friend and co-conspirator for Christ!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

