Stories of a good God

Are you willing to look around you, regardless of your personal circumstances, and love another human being on purpose?

Today I was the recipient of a chocolate cake kiss.  No … not a mucky, wet chocolate cake kiss from my children, but a chocolate cake kiss from a friend, a beautiful friend who intentionally loved me regardless of being in the midst of a time of grief and sadness.

A few weeks back a friend who has a daughter at my son’s kindy received the news that both her parents had died in a car crash.  I was privileged to be available to support her and her family with some practical things … and … I was permitted to pray and release God’s love and peace more than once …

This girl is a beautiful person, kind, caring, honest, compassionate … and, in midst of her time of great grief she saw me, struggling with a nasty cold, a mess in my home from having an entire ceiling replaced in one of our rooms and fumes left by the recent painters having cleaned up the mess left by the plasterers …

She saw me, regardless of her sadness, and went back home after kindy drop off and made me a chocolate cake with her 2-year-old-son.  And so, when I dropped her delightful little girl off after kindy time she presented me with a chocolate cake gift … a chocolate cake kiss of love … for me and my family …

My friend cooked us a cake of love, a chocolate cake in the shape of a love heart with the words “with love xxx” inscribed on it …

It challenged me … and so I now challenge you

Are we, as Christ’s representatives on Earth, willing to love another, on purpose, regardless of what is happening in our own worlds …?

I have been the recipient of a kiss from God from a girl who is kind, caring and loving regardless of what is going on in her world … she has set a standard … and I believe it is one we should all aspire to … to look beyond ourselves to the one before you and see them in their need … and offer … and act for “love” is a verb, an action word after all!

And so … will you follow her lead and be a kiss of kindness in your sphere of influence?

I believe we must, and in doing so be the hands and feet of God in a hurting world … and as we do the world will see that …

God is Good!

Comments on: "Giving chocolate cake kisses in the midst of crisis …" (7)

  1. I have been ministering to a young man who has been fighting cancer for over a year. This has involved going with him for his treatments many times. The interesting part is that his family, even in the midst of great suffering, has been looking for ways to help others. For example, one young man was in the hospital and they found out that he was there alone. So, they went and visited him and ended up giving him a Bible to take with him back to Denver. It is amazing to see such love expressed to others when their world is literally in chaos.

    So, yes, this is challenging but it speaks volumes. A family member was in church with us one day and this family got up to share an update on their son. The mom got up and asked for prayer for a few other people dealing with cancer. This shocked my family member who did not understand why she would do that. This stuff speaks to those who do not know Jesus.

    Like

    • I agree. In a world that is “all about me” to look beyond one’s life to other’s needs and hurts is indeed a confusing idea at the best of times, and even more so to the world when it is someone struggling with grief, cancer, lifes challenges … but Jesus commands us to do so for it is how we love one another that will be the witness to the world John 13:34 … I am not sure whether this girl is a Christian … but I think she is searching or curious … either way she certainly lives a Christ like life and challenges us all … 🙂

      Like

      • The family I referenced here are Christians, yes. My family member is not, so it spoke to him. You are right about it challenge us, though.

        Like

  2. This is beautiful!!! Sorry I am late getting here. I am thankful for the love shown to you in your time of need. God is so very good. Please allow me to share a story of the love shown to me recently.

    I have been having a time juggling my life lately (my lack of blogging may have given it away). During a particularly hard week-physically- I received a phone call from a VERY BUSY woman and colleague. She asked if she could come over. I was at home in my mixed matched PJ’s, no make-up, and a mess really. I sensed that I needed to let her come. Within 10 minutes she was at my door and stayed for 2 hours. She embraced me, prayed with me, and visited….she gave a sacrifice of her time and took from her schedule to reach out to me because she was concerned when she didn’t see me one night. (I had scheduled a sub to take my class that I taught). She has no idea of all that I was going through at the time, only a sense that she needed to reach out to me.

    She left me stronger and encouraged….she showed me the love of Christ and it amazes me how God will use us to reach out and love on each other.

    Today I am back on my feet and rearing to go. GOD IS GOOD!

    Like

    • Hey there. I am so glad YOU were the recipient of loving kindness!

      Always feel free to send out an SOS …

      Yours is a beautiful story of the Body being the Body and I trust you remain up and running … Thriving and with a fullness if joy that is enviable 🙂

      Blessings and yes … God is Good!

      Sent from my iPhone

      Like

  3. Friend of God said:

    Thank you for your great encouragement to keep on living, keep on loving and keep on giving no matter what we are experiencing. i have been encouraged this morning to make a cake and give a “chocolate cake kiss” to a great friend who is faithful in friendship and prayer…..and always giving!! God is good and I am thankful for the continual reminders!! Thanks to you and to HIM!!

    Like

    • Hi there. Thank you so much for your encouragement and comments. I will forward your comments onto my friend who has just come back from a tough trip to where her parents died and your comments will, I am sure, encourage her. Blessings!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

